Menu Close

The Joe Saupe Award for Best First-Time Presenters

This award was created in honor of Joe Saupe, Emeritus Professor of Education at the University of Missouri, Columbia. Joe was one of the founding members of both AIR and MidAIR and has been a role model for many institutional researchers. Among his many publications, he authored one of the seminal documents of the field, The Functions of Institutional Research. The Joe Saupe Award is an honorary award initially given to Joe in recognition of his years of participation in and contributions to MidAIR. Subsequently, it has been awarded to first-time presenters at MidAIR to acknowledge the quality of their presentation, and as an encouragement to other newcomers to the field of IR to present at future MidAIR conferences.




2015Egon Heidendal, Northwest Missouri State University
2014Stephanie Kauv, University of Northern Iowa
2013Kelly Burns, St. Louis Community College
Larry Westermeyer, University of Missouri-St. Louis
Kristy Bishop, Metropolitan Community College
2012Matt Simpson, Ozarks Technical Community College
John Clayton, Ozarks Technical Community College
2011Sheri Barrett, Benedictine College
2010Evelyn Eubank, University of Kansas
Kelli Schutte, William Jewel College
2009Patrick Rossol, National Higher Education Benchmarking Institute at Johnson County Community College
2008Derek Wesley, Mount Marty College
2007Hong Gao, Loras College
2006Karen Cunningham, University of Northern Iowa
Kristin Moser, University of Northern Iowa
Anthony Smothers, University of Northern Iowa
2005Mark Hamner, Texas Women’s University
2004Larry Westermeyer, University of Missouri – St. Louis
Jennifer Spielvogel, University of Missouri – Kansas City
2003Ralph Juhnke, Johnson County Community College
Larry Bunce, Johnson County Community College
2002Rosemary Hayes, University of Oklahoma
Thulasi Kumar, University of Northern Iowa
2001Cheryl Carpenter, Metropolitan Community College
Maura McCool, Metropolitan Community College
2000Cindy Wehmeyer, St. Louis University
1999Debra McClure, Washburn University
1998Alisha Rychnovsky, University of Missouri System
1997Ron Pennington, Webster University
1996Barbara Alpern, Walsh College
1995Carla Reichard, Oklahoma State University
1994Ryan Cherland, University of Kansas
1993William McCully, Iowa State University
1992Brian Nedwek, St. Louis University
1991Joint Conference with SAIR/SCUP–no award given
1990Larry Kelly, Johnson County Community College
1989John Bush, Oklahoma State University
1988Joe Saupe, University of Missouri – Columbia