Menu Close

MidAIR Best Paper Award

In 1993, AIR initiated the policy of providing a slot in the Forum program for short presentations by winners of the Best Paper award from each of its affiliate groups. This proved so successful that in 1995 a full-time slot was allotted for each of the regional best paper presentations. From 2010 on, the MidAIR Best Paper Award will also be available to first-time presenters.


2017Dr. Lou Guthrie, National Higher Education Benchmarking Institute
2016Mary Ann Penniston and Alex Cruz, Northwest Missouri State University
2015Eric Chambers & Ryan Klotz, St. Louis Community College
2014Abby Benz & Matt Simpson, Ozarks Technical Community College
2013Sheri Barrett, Johnson County Community College
2012John Clayton, Ozarks Technical Community College
2011Rachel Dykstra Boon, Drake University
2010Sarah M.Williams, Missouri State University
2009Kathy Schmidtke-Felts, University of Missouri-Columbia
Mark Ehlert, University of Missouri – Columbia
2008Ron Pennington, St. Charles Community College
Barbara Keim, St. Charles Community College
2007Kathy Schmidtke-Felts, University of Missouri-Columbia
2006Mark Hammer, Texas Women’s University
Lindsay Renfro, Baylor University
2005Mike Podgursky, University of Missouri – Columbia
Mark Ehlert, University of Missouri – Columbia
2004Charles Van Middlesworth, Metropolitan Community Colleges
2003Thulasi Kumar, University of Northern Iowa
2002Ming Wang, University of Missouri System
2001Mardy Eimers, University of Missouri System
Robert Mullen, University of Missouri System
2000Karen Conklin, Johnson County Community College
1999Ryan Cherland, University of Kansas
1998Theresa Smith, University of Oklahoma
1997Guihua Li, University of Missouri
Shawna Long, University of Missouri
Mary Ellen Simpson, University of Missouri
1996Ryan Cherland, University of Kansas
1995(No award given)
1994Karen Conklin, Johnson County Community College
1993Brian Nedwek, St. Louis University